"Officials under fire as Australia fumes over controversial Lions try decision"

Australia expressed frustration after their narrow defeat to the British & Irish Lions, with disputes over a late refereeing decision dominating the aftermath.

Wallabies head coach Joe Schmidt criticized the decision not to penalize Lions substitute Jac Morgan for a ruck clear-out, arguing it contradicted efforts to prioritize player safety. Schmidt insisted Morgan should have faced repercussions for an incident involving Carlo Tizzano just before Hugo Keenan sealed the Lions’ decisive try, securing an unassailable 2-0 series lead.

"Law 9.20 is clear," Schmidt said. "A player diving off their feet, missing the ball, and making contact with the neck—that shouldn’t be ignored. It's disappointing, especially when player welfare is supposed to be a priority. There was no binding, the arm was grounded—it wasn’t a legal clear-out. We reviewed multiple angles, but the decision stands. We have move on."

Former Australia player and analyst Morgan Turinui was even sharper in his critique, calling the non-penalty "completely wrong." He criticized the officiating team’s handling of the moment and suggested the head of referees, Joël Jutge, should review the decision. "This isn’t about bias—it’s a straightforward rule. The referee had a decent game overall, but they got the crucial call wrong," Turinui argued.

Australia captain Harry Wilson, visibly frustrated as the Lions celebrated nearby, also questioned the final play. "There was clear shoulder-to-neck contact. Carlo was in pain afterward. The explanation was that because arms were involved, it was legal. That doesn’t make it right," Wilson said.

In contrast, Lions coach Andy Farrell defended Morgan’s actions. "It was a strong clear-out—textbook, in my view," he said. "Sometimes people look for penalties when none exist. The referee stayed composed, and I believe he made the right call."

Fly-half Finn Russell suggested Tizzano exaggerated the contact. "They were desperate at that stage. Jac’s clear-out was perfectly executed—that’s rugby. Sometimes players react to draw a penalty, but it wasn’t warranted here."

The debate overshadowed what was otherwise a tightly contested series, leaving Australia to rue what they saw as a missed opportunity.